Archive for Stats

2012 F1 season – A season in stats

Posted in F1 with tags , , on November 29, 2012 by James O'Connor


8 grand prix winners in 2012.

13 drivers got a podium in 2012.

Vettel set the most fastest laps,6.

Vettel had the most wins,5.

Hamilton had the most poles,7.

Alonso had the most podiums,13.

7 grand prix winners in the first 7 races.

In 16 out of the 20 races,a driver who started on the front row went on to win the race.

Vettel missing Q3 in China this year was the first time in 42 races,since the 2009 Brazilian Grand Prix.

Vettel’s 10 race victory drought(from Bahrain to Singapore),was the longest he had from the start of his F1 career to his first victory in Italy in 2008.

Raikkonen set a new record of most laps completed in one season. Also a new record for most kilometers ever in a season.

Perez’s podium in Malaysia for Sauber was the first time a Sauber driver had been on the podium since Robert Kubica at the 2009 Brazilian GP,41 races.

Perez’s podium was also the first time a Mexican driver had been on a podium in 41 years.

Lotus’ double podium in Bahrain was their first in 95 races(Japan 2006),when they were under the name of Renault.

Ferrari’s double podium in Brazil was their first in 41 races(Korea 2010).

Grosjean was the first driver since 1994 to receive a one race ban.

Maldonado was the first Williams driver to win a grand prix,the Spanish grand prix this year,since Montoya won the 2004 Brazilian Grand Prix. A huge gap of 132 races.

Kobayashi’s podium in Japan was the first time a Japanese driver had been on the podium since Sato at the 2004 US GP. A gap 0f 152 races.

Vergne became the first frenchman since Bourdais in 2009 to score points in a grand prix,the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Schumacher’s podium in Valencia this year was his first since the 2006 Chinese Grand Prix. A 2093 day gap. He was also the oldest driver to get a podium since Jack Brabham at the 1970 British GP.

Webber did the double,winning at both Monaco and Silverstone,like he did in 2010.

Ricciardo finished 9th in his first ever home race at Australian Grand Prix.

Rosberg took Mercedes’ first pole and win in China,first time since the 1955 Italian Grand Prix under the Mercedes name. Brazil GP 2009 with Barrichello in the Brawn was the last pole if you prefer before Mercedes took over,with the last win,Barrichello at Monza in 2009.

Alonso’s victory in Valencia this year was his first win in his home country since the 2006 Spanish Grand Prix.

Red Bull’s three successive constructors titles mean they go in the record books along with Mclaren,Williams,and Ferrari,in winning three titles in a row.

Vettel became only the third driver in history,after Schumacher and Fangio,to win 3 successive titles in a row.

Out of 60 potential podiums spots this year,46 of them were taken by the world champions over the 20 races.